Home > Uncategorized > What’s Your Favorite John Carpenter flick?

What’s Your Favorite John Carpenter flick?


With horror movie season in full bloom (at least in my home), it’s hard not to stumble across the work of John Carpenter, the director of such genre staples as Halloween (my favorite horror film), The Thing, and Christine.  Since his rise to the level of horror demigod, starting with Halloween, Carpenter’s name has been as synonymous with scary movies as Wes Craven, Tobe Hooper, George Romero and Dario Argento.  The unrivaled influence of those five directors is almost unanimously responsible for what we see in horror films today, with all due respect to Alfred Hitchcock, William Friedkin, F.W. Murnau, and Michael Powell.  But, for me, Carpenter has the most range of the five listed.  I recently watched 1994’s In the Mouth of Madness, a little-known, supernatural horror flick starring Sam Neill about a creepy novelist blatantly modeled after Stephen King, and under Carpenter’s direction a relatively mundane horror tale ascends to a higher level and manages to be entertaining throughout.  It’s a nice little mix of supernatural, psychological, and gory horror (Charlton Heston, too).  I dug it.

Considering the time of year and my level of admiration for Mr. Carpenter, I’ve decided to conduct a poll:  What is your favorite John Carpenter flick?  Hopefully you’ve seen at least a couple, but if not then I am even more hopeful that you’ll check out some of his other work.  Get voting!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 17, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    I had to go with The Thing, a movie which still freaks me out much more than it should.

  2. October 18, 2011 at 12:15 am

    I lost my mind when I saw The Thing the first time, the head with legs walking away required multiple rewinds. Halloween is my general preference for nostalgic reasons, but The Thing could be better. I need to watch it again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

