Home > Secrets of a Cinephile > Secrets of a Cinephile: #1

Secrets of a Cinephile: #1


 

Secret #1:  I have never seen a film by Krzysztof Kieslowski.

 

The Criterion Collection made an announcement of great magnitude today: they’ll be releasing Kieslowski’s Three Colors Trilogy on Blu-ray in November.  This is what prompted this little confession.  I’m pumped it’s getting the Criterion treatment, so I’m a little happy I haven’t seen it yet.  Watching it for the first time on Criterion Blu-ray is my most preferred way to watch a film if I can.  Of course, I still have The Dekalog hanging over my head, but I’ll attempt to rectify that as soon as possible as well.

I plan to make these confessions a regular contribution to the blog, laying my inadequacies bare for all the world to see.  My purpose in stating this is to a) get my ass is gear to watch these films b) possibly give a dissenting or contradictory opinion on certain films that may ruffle some feathers  and/or c) stimulate some dialogue with other about their secrets or get their ideas on mine.

 

  1. August 17, 2011 at 2:19 am

    You know, I still owe the Three Colours Trilogy a good watch. I tried the first (don’t even remember which color it was) and was not a fan. But that was 6 years ago and my tastes have changed a lot. I thought The Double Life of Veronique was incredible, and 7 of the 10 Dekalog films I’ve seen were solid/very good as well. He’s sort of a director that I plan on liking more down the road… but am not there right now.

    • August 17, 2011 at 9:18 pm

      That’s interesting about the level of appreciation growing over time. It seems like there’s certain director’s that you need to work up to, like your eyes, ears, and mind need to be properly trained to view their movies and get the full experience. I’d hate to be disappointed by a film that others gush over simply because I could’t understand the intricacies of that particular filmmaker.

  2. August 17, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Having purchased and watched the Blu-ray version of The Double Life Of Veronique, I can vouch for the incredible increase in detail over the DVD versions. One only has to look at the close-up shots of Irene’s eyes and face to see it. I believe this release by Criterion will be a valuable addition to any enthusiast of the films of Krzysztof Kieslowski.

    Alexandre Fabbri
    KIESLOWSKI’S WORLD

    • August 17, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      I know there are plenty of Kieslowski enthusiasts out there, and hopefully I’ll get the same enjoyment out of his films and join the ranks. Very excited to get going on the Three Colors.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

