Home > Uncategorized > Happy Birthday, Mr. Kubrick

Happy Birthday, Mr. Kubrick


This is a late post, as there’s only 23 minutes left of the late, great Stanley Kubrick’s birthday to celebrate as I type this.  I’m watching Eyes Wide Shut as I type as well, a first time viewing for me.  It seemed fitting to check it out on his birthday.  It’s kind of funny, his birthday seems like a day to celebrate his ouevre as much or more than any other filmmaker.  As amazing as they are, does anyone celebrate Kurosawa’s or Hitchcock’s birthday?  Maybe Ingmar Bergman is the only comparably filmmaker who demands that kind of respect and adoration from film fans.

You don’t even have to be a huge fan of Kubrick’s films to at least offer a tip of the hat on his birthday, but as a cinephile I feel the need to regardless.  The man was so meticulous with his films, obsessing about every single frame to the point of compulsion.  He holds the Guinness World Record for most consecutive days shooting a single film (over 400 days on Eyes Wide Shut). I’m one of the few who doesn’t bow to the altar of 2001: A space Odyssey or Dr. Strangelove.  I find things to enjoy and admire about both, but I can’t bring myself to bestow the kind of praise most critics do upon these films.  For my money, I find some of his other works to be more satisfying if not more accessible, and perhaps fractionally less esoteric in nature.

In his honor, here’s a quick ranking according to my own tastes:

1.  Paths of Glory

2.  The Shining

3.  A Clockwork Orange

4.  2001: A Space Odyssey

5.  Full Metal Jacket

6.  The Killing

This is one pathetic tribute to a great auteur of cinema, but I didn’t give myself enough time to do it right.  So that’s what I got.

Got a fave?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 5, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    “Strangelove” was the first Kubrick film that really clicked for me, so I have a soft spot for it. Admittedly, there are still a decent chunk of his movies I haven’t seen (most notably “Paths of Glory”).

  2. August 5, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    “Strangelove” was my third Kubrick (after “Full Metal Jacket” and “The Shining”), and of any of his films I feel most compelled to watch it again. Just to get a better sense of it. The first time around the satire felt like a spiked bat clobbering me in the face. It’s so over-the-top, but I know that was his intention. And knowing that, I feel like it deserves another viewing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

